Tags

, , , , ,

UntitldggdgedAlmost a year ago an ambitious independent film project was screened for the first time to an enthusiastic audience. Checking In has gone on to be featured in film festivals across the world and won Best British Film at the London Film Awards 2014. The movie is now available on VOD for the first time and in celebration of its continued success we’re going to be visiting some of the cast and reflecting upon the film in a series of special blogs.

In this continuing series of interviews we have the girl with a guitar Michelle Cox.

Can you tell us a little bit about your character in Checking In?

I play a young girl called Sally who has been a struggling musician for many years and is starting to feel overcome with the negative effects that brings. Her agent has just got her this hotel gig, and by the end of it she is ready to throw the towel in.

What aspects of your character did you enjoy portraying most?

I really connected with Sally because, like her, I have been a struggling singer for many years, having to deal with the rejection and hardships. It was a beautiful story that I really could identify with and I hope others will take away a little of her renewed inspiration at the end of the story.

What sort of preparation did you have to do for this role?393778_10151028027452409_1273026880_n

Well actually I had to learn guitar. Funny story, in the audition I was asked if I could play guitar, and I said yes. Having never picked one up before, and me being a cellist, I thought how hard could it be? So after getting cast, I had two weeks to learn enough to look like I knew what I was doing!

What was it like working in a real life hotel?

I worked for Hilton hotels and I could definitely see how events that unfold in a hotel could make very entertaining stories on film. It’s a great, sociable job to have.

What type of movie do you enjoy watching and why?

Tough one. I like a good musical movie, with me being a singer as well as an actress. Things like Phantom of the Opera or Evita. Movies that make you feel something!

On set with writer/director Leah Green

On set with writer/director Leah Green

What was the most challenging aspect of the production for you?

Playing guitar convincingly? No, I guess singing the song live was challenging. We literally did it in one take. What you hear on screen is live as its being shot. No studio production, just that.

Click the image below to see the film’s trailer –

checkingindeskChecking in is now currently available on VOD at the following sites –

10868278_10154976281070241_1462151664844279540_nVimeo Link (click image)

575683_10152730868360241_891512957_n

VHX Link (click image)

Check back soon for another interview with the cast of Checking In.

