Once upon a tim… ah, wait… let me start again…

A long time ago in a galaxy far… wait, sorry… I’ve heard that one before too…

Sometimes life just gets in the way. There you are minding your own business, blogging away about the things you do and the things that interest you and suddenly – BOOM!

Gone.

Done.

No more words. And no matter how hard you try or what you do there just seems to be no way to find the spark you’ve lost. It’s a shame, but there it is. Call it “writer’s block” if you will, but I just call it a bloody frustrating annoyance. It’s one of those things that comes out of nowhere and just leaves you high and dry. In my case the ideas were there but the words just would not come. No matter how hard I tried it just didn’t seem to work. I don’t suppose losing an entire chapter of a novel to a dodgy hard drive helped either!

So I tried and stopped and tried and stopped again. About all I’ve managed to produce of late is an incredible sense of annoyance at myself. The soft sound of the wind and the occasional chirp of crickets is all that has inhabited this blog for far too long. I think I may have even seen a tumbleweed go tumbling by…

Yet here we are, with me putting down words that maybe someone somewhere will read. There’s nothing profound here, no great message of earth shattering importance. It’s just me, pressing a few keys and making words appear.

But isn’t that exactly as it should be?

