Tags

, , , , , ,

575059_10151523147684377_1896876514_n

Following on from last week’s interview with Don’t Get Bitten Writer/Director Dominic Holmes we have the second in our short series.

Today Twilight’s Requiem is talking to Rayne Reeves (Lilly)

TR: Can you tell us a bit about your character?

RR: Lilly’s still kind of a rookie hunter. She’s been doing it long enough that she knows she can handle herself in a fight against a vampire and is confident in that part of the job, but she’s still new enough that she needs Trenson’s guidance with how the job works and how to handle it when her idealism and enthusiasm has taken a bashing. The job hasn’t quite worn her down yet so even though she knows logically that they can’t save everyone, she still takes it quite badly when they fail.

TR: What aspects of Lilly did you enjoy portraying most?

RR: I liked that she was someone willing to literally fight to the death to protect others, it’s always fun to portray something you wouldn’t do yourself. In the highly unlikely event I ever came across a group of vampires I’d run in the opposite direction screaming like a little girl.

Rayne Reeves as Lilly

Rayne Reeves as Lilly

TR: What sort of preparation did you have to do for this role?

RR: Honestly I didn’t do that much. I did try to teach myself how to twirl a stake around my hand because it always looks so cool when people do that, but after much frustration and almost taking my own eye out a couple of times I decided that Lilly’s fighting style should more about efficiency than flair anyway. It was a totally creative choice and had nothing to do with total lack of ability I swear.

TR: What was it like working with all the bloody effects?

RR: Brilliant. Honestly, the bloodier the better as far as being covered in fake blood is concerned. You could do me up like Carrie on prom night and I’d probably complain about the little bit of bloodless skin on my little toe. Having to drink it is another matter, it tastes awful. I’d definitely take a change of clothes if I did it again though, the staff in my local shop looked a bit nervous when I popped in to buy cigarettes on the way home.

TR:  What type of movie do you enjoy watching and why?

RR: I really love films with a fantasy element, especially if there’s plenty of action to go with it. The love of fantasy probably started when I was really little and was obsessed with Labyrinth and The Neverending Story and got gradually bloodier through my teens with films like Highlander and The Crow. I like the escapism of films like that; sometimes it’s nice to be able to lose yourself in a whole different world for a couple of hours. Some girls like to curl up and watch a rom-com to cheer them up, I curl up with 300 or Watchmen.

Rayne Reeves as Lilly and Troy Dennison as Trenson.

Rayne Reeves as Lilly and Troy Dennison as Trenson.

 

TR: What was the most challenging aspect of the production for you?

RR: Apart from finding the money to maintain the blonde and get my roots done on a regular basis? Probably trying to find a way to play Lilly that was just Lilly, there were a couple of times when I felt myself slipping into a Buffy mind-set with her and much as I do love Buffy it wasn’t something I really wanted to do.
Not doing myself or anyone else any serious damage was a bit of a challenge to. Handing a woman with zero weapons training and a little too much joy at having a weapon a sword and telling her to ‘just go for it’ could have ended badly, fortunately I only accidentally stabbed Troy once and it was barely a scratch.

TR: Having performed on stage and on film what are the major differences between the two mediums and which do you prefer?

RR:They both have their benefits and I enjoy both ways of working for different reasons.
You get much more rehearsal time for the stage, but then if you mess up in front of a live audience there’s nowhere to hide so you really need to be prepared and know exactly what you’re doing at any given moment. With film it’s far more immediate. If something isn’t working you can try it again another way until there’s a few takes on film to choose from. It would be nice to be able to take a stage play and go, I’ll just take that scene from that Tuesday and this scene from this Thursday, then the whole of act two from Friday and then I’ll be as close to happy with my performance as I can be but it isn’t possible to do that with the stage the way it is with film.
On the other hand you get an adrenaline rush and instant response from a live audience that you can’t replicate with a camera.


Twilight’s Requiem would like to thank Rayne for taking the time to talk to us. Don’t Get Bitten is the latest independent film from Staffordshire based Loosecrew Productions.

